A Proper Mardi Gras Topper

Note: edited again to include the new YouTube link for this blog here:

Note: I made a couple edits to this blog today, 2/18/15. I had a technical issue with the link that has now been fixed and this blog has been corrected. Thank you for your patience and as always, for reading,

-Victoria

For those that follow my blog, you know that I am absolutely crazy about hats. My newly finished creation is a lovely top hat with a definite New Orleans Fleur de Lis flavor and Neo-Victorian steampunk style.

I started with a basic tall black top hat. I added fabric from a jacket I bought and actually wore to work over 15 years ago.

IMG_2559-0

IMG_2561-0

I found a nifty knob on a steep discount at a craft store. I liked the Fleur de Lis motif. I thought it would be fun to be able to pull the hat off and on by it. I choose another fleur for the backside.

IMG_2572

IMG_2574

I added wired ribbon, tulle, plumes, and an antique key as elegant touches.

IMG_2575

IMG_2587

IMG_2589

IMG_2590

Then a quick facial, makeup and wig test.

IMG_2579

IMG_2578

IMG_2591

Then the real fun began, a lot of good shots over 90 minutes.

IMG_2637

IMG_2617

IMG_2608

IMG_2645

IMG_2677

IMG_2765

IMG_2763

IMG_2737

IMG_2766

IMG_2661

I included a few last regular shots for fun. I forgot how much I liked being a red head!

A couple of announcements and events:

First a biggie! I will have an art installation/show in early June here in St. Louis. Please watch this space for details!

Note, my hautehen.com website, phone number and email are down for just a few more days as I upgrade my systems.

Like a lot of steampunk? Find at great resource in the Airship Ambassador on Facebook. Right now he is fostering the Steampunk Hands Around the World event. It is a great way to meet others in the Steampunk community.

My first show of the year is next week. If you are in the St. Louis, MO area, please stop by and support local artists! Details below:

IMG_2775

One comment on “A Proper Mardi Gras Topper

  1. Sue says:

    Fabulous hat. I love the fabric you used from your old coat with the fleur di li accents. Would never have thought of using a door knob though but it goes just right. Thank you for showing your great hat

Leave a Reply

